Parking Lot Mysteries


Across from the parking garage we park at for the ride-share, there’s a garage that’s closed off. Curious about it, I decided to explore. It seemed like every other garage, structurally sound, no obvious reason it should be closed.

And then, I heard it. A double thump-thump, like what you’d hear from an ultrasound of twins. A dual heart beat.

I looked around, trying to locate the source of the sound, and there, in one of the darkest corners were two great, sullen lights, like Halloween lantern, glowing more to emphasize the dark than allow for light.

I should have turned around then, and ran. But, like a fish pulled by the siren light of an angler fish’s glow, I was memorized into walking forward. Closer to the sullen light and double thrum, I went. And then, I saw it. A sight I’ll take to the grave.

A dragon, smoke oozing from it’s nostrils, scales battered and dust covered. “Child,” it hissed at me, “why do you disturb me?”

I could only whisper back, “I was curious.” To which, the mighty Wyrm snorted.

“Go back, child. This is the entrance to the land of the Fae – a land where your answer will get you killed. Go back, your friends are looking for you.” I could hear them, my co-workers, then. Calling me to go to them. To leave the land of mystery for the land of the mundane.

I turned to their voices, then, as if in an afterthought, I heard the dragon murmur, “go back to your friends, but remember that you’ve been touched by magic. And, one day, return to me.”

3 thoughts on “Parking Lot Mysteries

  1. Alison says:

    This gave me goosebumps!!!!! More!!!!! Hurry up!!! I need to know more about the dragon. Please?!

  2. nzvetstudent says:

    i am very picky about my dragon stories…but this one i definitely like ^_^

  3. Alison says:

    I loved this so much. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

